Get On Your Bike, and Go.

Image

Beginning on April 1st, I started biking every day. I will bike every day through at least April 30th, and probably beyond.

Why?

Why not?

I first rediscovered biking in June of 2010. I had biked a little bit before then, but it was when my fiance gave me a map of New York City outlining various bike routes that I really took to it. I bought a bike for myself on my 22nd birthday, and didn’t do too much with it. Between 2003 and 2010, I think I put 100 miles on it. Starting in June of 2010, I ventured out into the city streets. I was unemployed, and trying to find ways to break the monotonous daily grind of looking for work. Since then, I’ve biked more than 1,600 miles. Almost all of them in the NYC area. 

Image

I started carrying an old camera with me, snapping photos along the way. Some came out blurry, but some have ended up in frames. Almost all of them taken while riding.

IImage

I like riding because there is some seriously cool shit to see that I wouldn’t otherwise experience.

Image

I also think there’s a similar feeling that I get that gym rats might get. Adrenaline? I’m not sure, but that might be it. Why else would I put myself on a bike for 20 miles, 3 days in a row?

Image

I’ve been to so many areas of Brooklyn and throughout NYC that I never would have visited otherwise.

Image

I’ve been on the Brooklyn Bridge too many times. It’s crazy trying to battle pedestrians. I try to mix it up with some of the other bridges. They’re all unique, that’s for damn sure, from a cycling view.

Image

The Manhattan Bridge might be my favorite. It’s straight up and over.

Image

The Williamsburg Bridge is a sonuvabitch. There’s an incline, then it levels out briefly before a second incline. Going downhill into Williamsburg is awesome, though.

Image

The Gil Hodges Bridge heading into Far Rockaway is nice, but if you have bikers coming your way, it can be a bit scary. It’s narrow.

Image

The 59th Street Bridge(AKA The Queensboro Bridge, AKA The Ed Koch Queensboro Bridge) is a great ride, but it’s so far away for me, I’ve only gone over it a few times.

Image

I think I may have lost my point along the way. I found “Live 2 Create” too great to NOT take a photo of. Positive graffiti?

I think my point is biking every day is easy, because it’s something I like doing. Think of all the shit we hate doing every day, but we do it anyway. Go to work, clean the house, do the laundry, …shower!

I first joined up with the 30 Days of Biking challenge as a way to get fit, and to mix up the day. It totally changed everything. I’ve biked in every month of the year, in almost every weather condition, and at temperatures as low as 3 degrees(once…in shorts. That was dumb.) and as high as 100+. I’m still riding my crappy Diamondback hybrid, but I’ve had to change a few tires along the way.

Image

I had to hide under a tree during an impromptu downpour.

Image

Besides Bunghole Liquors, is this the best liquor store name ever?

Image

This guy biked 28 miles on a big wheel.

Image

I’m about ready for bed, so here’s the last photo I took while biking in 2010, on October 4th.

So, who wants to go riding?

Leave a Reply

